This is another essay, written a couple of months ago, which I’ve decided to recycle into this blog. It’s about the effects of economic inequality, other than the fact that it can cause poverty in a country. I’d say that it’s definitely understandable for people who know nothing about economics – and I use some diagrams which is useful if you prefer to process information visually. In addition, there’s quite a long list of references at the end if you want to look deeper into the topic. I know that I haven’t been writing a lot of ‘new’ posts recently, but don’t be disappointed, it’ll only take you a couple of minutes to read and I promise that it’s worth it.

I have the link to the essay (as a PDF) below because, for some reason, I’m having problems with copying and pasting it from the PDF into this blog post. So grab a mug of tea/coffee and click the link below for some fun economics learning! (yay)

Economic Inequality Essay

I’m assuming you’ve just read the essay, so how was it? I hope it was good, I stayed up way too late at night to get it done! I actually learnt a lot about the effects of inequality while researching for this essay – it’s amazing what you can learn from the Internet nowadays; there’s so much knowledge at your fingertips…

Anyway, I wanted to quickly advertise this project which I’d love for you to join with me! It’s a really enjoyable and relaxed way to interact with other bloggers and share your opinion about common topics – you’ll gain loads of knowledge. If you’re interested, drop me an email via my contact form and I’ll reply back very soon with some details for the first assignment. Just to add, you don’t have to adhere to extremely strict deadlines and rules if you participate, it’s just a bit of fun!

economicinequality

9 thoughts on “Consequences of Inequality

  1. Guntash: this is an impressive essay, if only because of the scope of your survey; this is a solid overview of the issues. I appreciate the footnotes as well: a vital service which promotes transparency and fact-checking. You tackle many issues in this essay–maybe a few too many. What was missing was a single unifying argument, something along the lines of “income inequality is X because it does Y.” I thought it was the strongest when you discussed the ways in which income inequality causes people with fewer assets and lower incomes (kudos for drawing the distinction, which is too often obscured in our political discourse) to turn on each other, fearing they will lose their shrinking slice of a shrinking pie. This is precisely how the Democratic Party maintained one-party control of the 11 states of the American Confederacy for decades–getting poor white folks to fear that poor black folks will take what little they had. By voting Democratic (casting blacks as Lincoln-following [boo!] Republicans), they cast their lot with the very people oppressing them. Karl Marx’s false consciousness in real time. I would highly recommend (when you have the time to spare) that you look at the recent books by Christopher Hayes (who approaches these issues from a political-cultural perspective): A Colony in a Nation and, especially, Twilight of the Elites. One final point: your discussion of “food desserts” and the inefficient distribution not only of wealth, but of basic human needs like food, clean water and health care, really hit home for me, as someone who worked (directly and indirectly) in public health for nearly two decades. One final FINAL thought: my opinion of the Laffer Curve and supply-side economics generally elides with that of George Herbert Walker Bush, before he became Reagan’s 1980 VP nominee. He called it “voodoo economics.” 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I appreciate this feedback Matt! Not many people have the guts to criticise the work of others, but this is supposed to be a learning environment so I’m grateful for your initiative to openly share your thoughts.

      I acknowledge that I still have a long way to go before I start writing really cohesive, unified essays, but I guess practice is only thing I can do at this stage. My essays seem like paragraphs with scattered, unrelated pieces of information at the moment because I find it hard to tie everything together with a single string. Maybe you have some guidance as to how this can be achieved?

      Christopher Hayes is an author I’ll definitely look into – thanks for the recommendation. In addition, I’ll look into voodoo economics as it sounds like an interesting concept which I can write a post about!

      Your comment really shows the wealth of knowledge you have in your possession and I would be extremely grateful if you’d be able to give me some guidance as to how I can learn to manipulate data. I’ll contact you via your contact form for some more specific questions/queries I have, if you’re willing to answer them.

      Thank you again,

      Guntash

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My quick reply is three words: edit edit edit. My longer reply is that all writing should begin with a question. My longer longer answer is that I am always happy to answer questions that I am able to answer. Feel free to contact me. Oh–and it takes even more guts to put your thoughts out there in the first place, especially on a topic as politically fraught as income inequality (full disclosure: my wife and I voted for Bernie Sanders during the Democratic presidential nomination process, then we voted for Hillary Clinton in the general election).

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I watched your animation – it’s great as it is able to visually capture the huge extent of the problem and the need for reform.

      I’m actually not a Cambridge student, but I’m flattered you thought I could be one! I’m only 17 at the moment so I’m going to university next year and Cambridge is a place where I’m planning on applying. However, I’m also planning on doing a blog post about higher education institutions (i.e. universities) soon so you can find out more of my views when I post this.

      Anyway, I appreciate your kind words so thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I read your essay. You raise a lot of interesting points! You spoke about the Columbian government being run by wealthy people. Of course. I doubt whether there is a government on earth that is not puppets for wealthy individuals and their Corporations. This has always been the case everywhere.
    What interests me is how religious or spiritual idealogy influences and indeed determines what level of inequality is in a nation.

    Like

  3. I enjoyed your work. Excellent. Others above have commented adroitly on your piece, I have little to add. My favorite graph was the one that compared educational attainment vs. income distribution. Eye opening.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks Jason! I’m so glad that there are people out there who enjoy reading my work – without this blog, the essay would have been left in a random file somewhere, never to be seen again. At least it’s had some value through this platform.

      Your interest in the ‘educational attainment vs. income distribution’ graph aligns with my interest in this topic in particular. I want to write another post which specifically deals with this topic because I think its definitely worth exploring. In fact, I’ll write the post especially for you!

      Thanks for dropping by!

      Guntash

      Like

Leave a Reply

