Here’s another post for this week where I’m sure you’ll be pleased to know that we’re going to be meeting someone unexpected. Someone who I didn’t really want to discuss in this blog, but, I think that you should meet this person in order to have some context when you read my posts. So, let’s go ahead and meet…

Guntash Mangat. Yes, me! I haven’t really written much about myself in this blog because I didn’t want people to judge me for who I am and decide that my ideas are redundant due to my age. However, having written quite a few posts and having engaged with this platform for a couple of months, I think that you should have an idea about my background so that you have some understanding of where I’m coming from.

Ok, I don’t know where to start! Well, let’s begin with the basics: I’m a 17-year-old girl who lives in England, UK where I am currently undergoing a full-time education. I study economics, maths, physics and French at A-Level and I think I want to pursue economics at university. (more on this later)

Living with my 3 sisters and parents, making us a family of 6, is great because I hardly ever feel lonely! The downsides of living in a large family include the fact that paid family outings become significantly more expensive with each extra person, and cooperation between various family members can sometimes be an issue… However, overall, a large family allows me to engage with various different perspectives and opinions which is interesting (most of the time).

I’m intrigued by a variety of different subjects which I try to cover through my blog posts, but, economics would be one of the most prominent interests that I have. Clearly, the world has finite resources and humans have unlimited wants, so decisions need to be made on the allocation of these resources among competing uses which is where economics comes in. (there will be more about why I believe economics is an important area of study in a future post)

Anyway, I know that I’ll probably end up in a British university next year, and I’ll probably be studying economics at that university, but I really want to go to the US for my university education (I’ll be applying to the US but I’m not completely optimistic about the outcome). I was lucky enough to visit some American universities last autumn and I absolutely adored the liberal arts system. Restricting the content of my education does not seem like an appealing prospect to me at this age; in the UK I’m forced to pick only 1 subject to fully commit to. I want to study a range of different things and broaden my knowledge base to fully capture the world in which I live and to have a host of new experiences. (but, of course, I’m completely grateful that I find myself having these options and being able to make these decisions)

Anyway, I don’t want to go off on a tangent. Let’s talk a bit about India where I lived for a couple of years (from around the age of 11 to the age of 13); this experience has shaped the person I am today. If you didn’t know, I’m of Indian origin as both of my parents are Indian, although, I do have some issues with associating myself with one particular country. I lived with my grandparents in India and lead a completely different life to what I’m leading right now. Apart from this stage of my life living abroad, I’ve spent most of my life in the UK. So having reflected upon it, I know that living in India was an important event where I learned a lot about myself and humanity in general. (there’s a lot I can write about this subject so I might write another post disclosing everything about my time in India if you’d like that)

What else? I’m a Sikh. Well, I’m not exactly a devout Sikh, but I support Sikh beliefs, I visit a Gurudwara from time to time (the closest Gurudwara to our house is a couple of hours away so that’s not ideal) and I wear a kara… so I’m sort of a Sikh, but I’m constantly trying to learn new things about the religion and its history as it is an important part of my family and my culture. (again, I can do a post – or even a series of posts – about Sikhism if you think you’d be interested in knowing more)

I guess that’s enough for now. I hope that this post has encouraged you to bear in mind that I’m still undergoing a major learning process where I want to discover new things and I’m prone to mess up. I frequently have the tendency to make mistakes, even huge ones, in my writing – your comments have made me realise that I often easily overlook certain important considerations, so I’m thankful for anyone who’s ever given me feedback (please continue doing so). I also hope that you enjoyed this brief insight about my life – this is a small glimpse of the full picture. I’d be happy to elaborate a bit more on some things to truly express who I am.

17 thoughts on “3. Meet, ___________.

    1. I don’t want to become obsessed with going to an ‘elite’ or ‘prestigious’ university, but I think that the top universities in the US – eg. MIT, Stanford, Harvard, University of Chicago – could probably provide the best learning experience due to their resources and contacts who are world acclaimed. For me, it’s about the people; ideally, I’d love to be surrounded by a group of diverse people who are as enthusiastic and excited about learning as I am. This is my main priority. If you have any advice for me, that would be great. Also, I could write a post about universities as it’s almost the time of year when I have to send all of my applications.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great post. Please keep doing what you are doing. I’m a 74 year old retired psychotherapist (Canadian) and really want to encourage you to explore — and make mis-takes (that is where the growth is).

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for the support Dave! I read about you in the ‘About’ page of your blog and it seems as though you have pretty diverse interests as I do – you must be a fascinating person to talk to!

      Like

  2. Loved this, and it definitely did give insight into who you are. While I do now see your opinions through a lens, it’s more that I value your novel views rather than discredit your beliefs. I would love to see a “post or series of posts” as I myself am not at all familiar with Sikh beliefs/faith and am interested in learning more.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I appreciate your reassurance; I’ll certainly start a ‘Sikhism’ series as not only do I think it’ll be beneficial for readers, like you, but I also think that it will help me and give me an excuse to discover even more about the religion. Thanks for the comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Excellent to meet you, Guntash Mangat! You are a brave young woman for putting your thoughts out there for all to read. Two comments. 1) We all make mistakes: never apologize in advance for them. Make them then let the chips fall where they may. 2) If you are serious about matriculating at an American college/university, I highly recommend those in the Boston and Philadelphia areas. And that is not at ALL because I live in the former and was raised in the latter. Nothing at all…;)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve visited Boston in 2015 and I loved it there! The universities are amazing, the people are inspired and, overall, the city is so lively. On the other hand, I’ve never been to Philadelphia, but I’m sure it’s just as awesome! I’m trying not to get too excited about the whole thing in case it doesn’t happen due to financing/admission, but I can’t help feeling some happiness 🙂​

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

